Life & Bits

Easy to follow blogging tips for beginners on WordPress.com

Create Your Blog Now! Make a Post Today!


Wordpress

I have always had a desire to write a blog in some remote corner of my mind.  I never took it seriously.  How could I?  We all have enough stuff to deal with,  right!?  I even glanced through a couple of books for dummies on blogging (I read the table of content) but didn’t thought of buying a book like that.  It would be a waste of money.  Another book picking up dust in some dark room in my house.  And even if I created a blog, who have time to write enough material to keep it interesting?  What I am going to write about? Aren’t there too many blogs out in the blogosphere about every single topic you might think about?  And even if I selected a topic, I would need to research and write as if I were to get graded.  You know what, let’s not focus on the reasons why we shouldn’t start a blog immediately (I really wanted to say excuses).  If you are thinking about it, just create one now!  Here is how to make your first WordPress post.

What pushed me over the edge?  Recently a friend told me she was going to start a blog.  There was no hesitation whatsoever when she said it.  I felt a decision was made and I got the strong sense it would happen very soon.  I had no doubt her blog would start before mine.  One afternoon, while surfing the net, I ended up in WordPress and its learning page.  What I saw was so simple and straight forward, that I created my blog the next day.  Now I can say I beat her on the race to start a blog, and I hope she reads this since I want to challenge her to start her blog.  Nevertheless, thanks to her, I reconnected with my wish to create a blog.  In the same way, I want to inspire you to create your blog.  If you create your blog as a result of this post, I promise I will subscribe to your blog and share it with my friends (just leave a comment with your blog address).

Now that you have decided to create your blog, here are the steps, from signing up all the way to your first post.  These steps pertain to WordPress since it is the only site I have used for blogging.  Whenever I learn about another site I will let you now in a post.  WordPress Tutorial and Walk-Through have more details than the steps below and I recommend you read it.  I just wanted to emphasise on stuff I found tricky or on question I had, even after reading the tutorial.

Step 1:  Sign Up in WordPress.  Click on this link to open the sign up page.  If you always wanted your webpage here is your chance.  Be creative with the address.  Choose an address related to the blog’s topic.  It is not the name of your blog.  You will have a chance later to name your blog.  Since this is your first blog with WordPress, you will be asked to create a username.  You can use the same address as the username, or something else.  Note: You can have more than one blog with your username.  Each blog have a different address.

Step 2: Activate Your Account.  You will have to go to your e-mail account and follow the link WordPress sends you.  This will activate your account.  SUCCESS!  You have officially create a blog.  That’s it, that’s all!.  You can even visit your blog.  Open your browser, type the address you selected and there is your blog!  Congratulations!  Note: You can now write your blog address as a comment on this post for me to subscribe to your blog!

Now you are going to prepare your blog and write your first post.  If you were publishing a newspaper you would go to your workshop and work on the formats of the paper and write your articles, all before publishing it.  That workshop, where you work everything before publishing, is what WordPress call the Dashboard.  Once you publish the newspaper, the reader only see the paper, they don’t see the workshop.  In the same way, your public will only see your blog and not your dashboard.  The dashboard can only be seen by you when you sign in.

Step 3: Looks.  Sign In to WordPress.  What’s next?  Although you can already see your blog, you probably want to change how it looks.  How do you do that?  It can be very easy.  On the top select My Blog -> Dashboard.  On the left-hand side menu, look for Appearance.  Open it by clicking at the arrow on the side (put the pointer over Appearance).  Select Themes.  Just go on and play.  You can preview how your blog will look (you close the preview on the top left part preview).  Although WordPress recommend you choose a theme base not only on looks, but also on functions needed for your type of blog, go ahead and choose one you like.  You can change it later.  At this point, you can also play with the Widgets on the Appearance menu.

Step 4: Write Your First Post!  So you think the blog look nice? Good.  Now write your first post.  On the left-hand side select Post -> Add New.  Title your post.  Go ahead and write your post.

Once you complete your post, you are ready to step out of  the ¨workshop¨ and publish your work for the public.  You can enhance your post by adding categories, tags and links.  Follow the links provided for more details.  You can also add photos and other media.  That would be striving for perfection before publishing.  Since you can come back to edit and update the post, proceed with the next step.

Step 5: PUBLISH It, Please!  Press Publish.  You are officially a blogger and part of the blogosphere.

When you woke up this morning, you didn’t think you would be creating a blog right away and making a post today.  If you haven’t tried the steps above, do it as soon as you can.  I hope the post was helpful to some of you.  I will have a long week before I can write a new post.  We will see.  Enjoy life and use the bits to yell at the digital world.

What’s Next?

  1. I Searched for My Site and It didn’t Get Any Search Result!  This article explains how to expedite the discovery of your site.
  2. Make Your Website Appear on Search Results.  This article expands on the previous one.  It explains how to aid search engines to find your content.
  3. Cool Stats Widgets You Will Like.  This article explains how to add statistic widgets to your blog to learn more about your readers.
  4. How to Add a Contact Form and Page.  This article explains setting up a contact page with a contact form in WordPress.com.

Additional Reading:

  1. Choose WordPress For Blog Creation.  This article explains your options when starting a blog.  It describes each one of the options.
  2. How to Build a Blog with WordPress.  For more advanced user, this articles show the steps to create a blog if you are hosting the blog yourself…
  3. How to Make a WordPress.com Blog Look Professional. This articles explains what is a Hosted Blog versus a Self-Hosted Blog.  For beginners, like us, it explains the reason WordPress.com is an excellent choice that will let you grow when you are ready.

New Blogs! You did it!

  1. Un Viaje Sorprendente! by gnnmart my big sister.  Click at the blog title.
11 responses to “Create Your Blog Now! Make a Post Today!

  1. abara alex August 23, 2012 at 08:55

    cool stuff u should try it out

  2. Jaime Arturo Riera-Seivane January 9, 2012 at 10:29

    Está genial el blog educativo para principiantes. Lo que he estado buscando en el sistema si hay alguna forma de contabilizar el número de personas que te visitan por regiones geográficas. Yo creo que blogspot tiene uno, pero no lo veo en WordPress.

    • RMV January 9, 2012 at 21:38

      Las estadisticas de WordPress.com no the da la informacion de las visitas por regiones demograficas. Sin embargo, puedes instalar un widget FEEDJIT, Flag Counter o ClustrMap que the dan la informacion por region….

  3. NEX-5 November 17, 2011 at 16:11

    Én mindig vizsgálja online tipp, hogy előnyös nekem. Köszönjük!

    • RMV November 17, 2011 at 19:00

      Köszönöm szépen a látogatást. Remélem, hogy a tájékoztatást a blog már használható. Vártunk vissza.

      (Fordítás: Google)

  4. Pingback: I Searched for My Site and It didn’t Get Any Search Result! « Life & Bits

  5. Julio Bro! February 10, 2011 at 20:51

    Me estas impulsando a algo…algo que pensamos…algo que puede ser realidad…it’s coming…just wait…you’ll see.

    • Reinaldo M February 10, 2011 at 21:46

      Me gusta lo que leo…The Bro con un blog! Hmmmm. Good. Estoy seguro que sería un excelente blog y si alguien escribe mucho y opina mucho, eres tu. Pana animate que espero tu blog pronto.

  6. Reinaldo M February 6, 2011 at 18:23

    Nelson…ya tienes las instrucciones para crear tu blog…métele mano. Cualquier cosa me escriben. Espero ver la dirección de sus blogs por aqui.

  7. Gianna Martinez February 6, 2011 at 18:17

    Success! You Did it! Now I hope to encourage Nelson to do the same. for the first time in weeks I saw him so motivated to write. So your enthusiasm is contagious! Thanks for the courage of taking the first step! We Will follow soon! God Bless You!

    • Reinaldo M February 8, 2011 at 08:04

      Espero ver que hagas tu weblog. Puedes hacerlo por ejemplo del Municipio Autónomo de Caguas y asi comienzas a recompilar los árticulos para la revista. Cuando tengas tu blog de lo que sea, me pones la dirección por aqui. Mil gracias por tus comentarios.

Leave a Reply

